Swiss Alps

Swiss Alps

The Swiss Alpine region, traditionally referred to as the Swiss Alps, represents an important natural feature of the country and consists of the Swiss Plateau and the Swiss part of the Jura Mountains, one of Switzerland’s three main physiographic regions.

The Swiss Alps cover an area sometimes called the Central Alps, extending into both the Western Alps and the Eastern Alps.

“Swiss Alps” (Summer landscape) Artist-Viktor Yushkevich

YouTube player

The northern ranges from the Bernese Alps to the Appenzell Alps are entirely located in Switzerland, while the southern ranges from the Mont Blanc mountain range to the Bernina mountain range are shared with other countries such as France, Italy, Austria and Liechtenstein.

Photo & Video gallery continues…

Table of contents: